Minecraft Guide: How to Get an Enchanted Iron Sword

In the vast and pixelated world of Minecraft, mastering the art of swordplay is essential for survival. Transforming a simple iron sword into a formidable weapon with magical enchantments adds a new dimension to your combat skills. This guide will walk you through the process of crafting an Enchanted Iron Sword using the enchanting table.

Required Materials:

Make sure you have the following materials to embark on the journey of enchanting:

Steps to Enchant the Iron Sword:

1. Open the Enchanting Table:

Begin the enchanting process by opening the enchanting table, revealing the Enchant menu.

Open the Enchanting Table

2. Enchant the Iron Sword:

  • Place the Iron Sword in the first box of the enchanting menu.
  • Add 3 Lapis Lazuli to the second box. The enchantment slots will display up to 3 enchantment options, each requiring a specific number of experience levels to unlock.
  • For example:
    • Enchantment 1: Requires 9 experience levels
    • Enchantment 2: Requires 18 experience levels
    • Enchantment 3: Requires 30 experience levels
  • Hover over each enchantment to unveil its unique powers. The enchantment with the highest experience point requirement generally offers the most potent effect.
Enchant the Iron Sword
  • Suppose you wish to apply “Smite IV” to your iron sword.
  • Once selected, your Lapis Lazuli and experience points will be spent, causing the iron sword to glow purple. Hover over the enchanted sword to witness its newfound powers, in this case, Smite IV.
Enchant the Iron Sword

3. Retrieve the Enchanted Iron Sword:

Move the newly enchanted Iron Sword back into your inventory. It is now an Enchanted Iron Sword, ready to vanquish foes with its magical prowess.

Enchant the Iron Sword

You’ve successfully crafted an Enchanted Iron Sword in Minecraft. With its enchantment, you’re now equipped to smite enemies with increased power.

Attack Damage

Attack Damage refers to the amount of damage a weapon deals when used to attack entities in the game. Each weapon in Minecraft has a specific attack damage value, and this value determines how much health or damage points are subtracted from the target when the weapon is used.

NameAttack Damage
Wooden Sword4
Golden Sword4
Stone Sword5
Iron Sword6
Diamond Sword7
Netherite Sword8

The above table shows the attack damage in ascending order.


Durability is a characteristic associated with tools, weapons, and armor. It represents the item’s overall strength and how much use it can withstand before it becomes unusable and eventually breaks. As you use tools, weapons, or armor in the game, their durability decreases.

Golden Sword32
Wooden Sword59
Stone Sword131
Iron Sword250
Diamond Sword1561
Netherite Sword2031

The above table shows the durability in ascending order.

Equip your Enchanted Iron Sword and let the enchanting adventures unfold as you face the challenges of the Minecraft world!

Mia is a finance professional who finds solace in the world of books and gaming. An avid reader of financial literature, Mia is equally enthusiastic about exploring the realms of fantasy in video games. Whether it's managing portfolios or leading a virtual guild, Mia excels at strategic thinking.

Leave a Reply